Dietician round 2

So, I went to see the dietician on the weekend.

She is EXCELLENT. She told me that I wasn’t eating enough, and also tried not to make faces of horror at my diet pre-beginning this. (She didn’t succeed. When I said to her “But I think I may need to up my intake a little more, because I am starting to get hungry,” she said “GOOD. It means your metabolism is starting to work!” I told her that I’d started eating my calories back, but I was still hungry. I’m trying not to go above my calorie count, but I’m listening to my body when it comes to eating. I do eat my planned snacks, but if I’m hungry I have additional snacks within my calorie count.)

She recommended adding two serves of carbohydrates. She was wonderful about working with my issues with foods (can’t eat dairy, don’t like rice, the potato’s natural partner is butter and I get cranky because I can’t eat it, I don’t like most grains.) Part of the reason I don’t eat bread is that I don’t have an “off” switch–I will sit down in front of a loaf of white bread and eat it until my stomach is hurting and then I will eat some more. She suggested eating multi-grain instead. I have to admit, it doesn’t provoke the same binge response, although I don’t like it enough to eat it every day. A couple of times a week, maybe.

Anyway, she recommended sweet potato as a possibility for one of my serves of carbs. I’m adding it to my salads and HOLY GOD. It tastes amazing and means that I WANT to eat my salad. Also, I went for a run last night. It was week 4, session 1 of Zombies Run to 5K.

I had heaps of energy for the early runs. There’s a section that is repetitions of slow and fast walks–I found that really boring and found it hard to walk slow. I kept on slipping into my natural pace, which is around 5km/hr. Then came the big test. A 15 minute run. I knew that it was coming up, and I’d based my calorie calculations for the day on running 7.5 minutes.

I RAN FOR 12 MINUTES. I only took a break because I got a stitch and walked it off. I wasn’t going super-fast, but I wasn’t gasping for breath and my legs didn’t feel like I was wading through concrete. It’s amazing what a difference eating to support my exercise makes.

She also mentioned that a serve of nuts is 20 almonds, not the 10 that I’ve been having, and she wanted me to add a serve of good fat to my diet to get my good cholesterol up. I’ve chosen avocado, but she said it could be another serve of nuts or a teaspoon of oil in my salad dressing or something.

(She also tried to get me to eat something like quiche for lunch and lol N O P E. Just. Eggs. No. It’s a texture thing.)

So, that’s where I’m at. I’ll see what the scales say tomorrow, but I’m pretty positive about this.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

