Off the plateau

I’m finally off the plateau. My “trend line” in the Hacker’s diet was always going down, but it was so frustrating to see the scales not move. I couldn’t seem to break that 190.9 pound barrier–it wasn’t even that I dipped below and then would hover around it, I would just never measure below that number.

Yesterday was a bad day. I forgot to bring my yoghurt to work and couldn’t get out to buy one. I did have an apple as a snack in the afternoon, but it just doesn’t fill me up. I had fish planned that evening for dinner and I refuse to buy fish on anything other than the day I’m cooking/eating it, so I went to the shops while I was hungry.

Oops.

Some chocolate and liquorice purchases later, I snacked on them was I was eating dinner.

But the thing is:

That’s not the end of the world. I don’t want to do it every day. But I did weigh my portions and log them. I cut out one of the veges (I was going to have fish, four veges and quinoa, and I ended up just having fish and three veges.)

Then I worked out that if I walked for an hour, my calories would balance for the day. I REALLY didn’t want to. It was cold and wet. But I put on a long-sleeved top and just went.

And then I thought “… if I do week 3 session 3 of Zombies Run 5k training, that will work out pretty much the same calorie-wise, AND it only takes 42 minutes.” So I ran.

My god it was hard work. The easy runs of Tuesday were a thing of the past. But I perservered and kept at it. Did all of the walk/run drills, ran the first five minutes. Didn’t manage to make half of one of the 8 minute freeform runs (it’s just a minimum I’ve set for myself) but did manage the other. At the end of the day, my calories balanced.

Also as a note to self–I dressed in a long-sleeved top, because I thought I was going to be walking. I should have dressed in a short-sleeved top as running just makes me too hot. Lesson learned.

And this morning the scales showed 190.

So: failing isn’t the end of the world, if you can control it, try to mitigate the damage and continuing to work will see you mostly ok.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

