Resources: Recipes

I simply cannot come home each night and cook. If I had to prep a meal from scratch every day, I basically wouldn’t eat. This has, historically, been a problem. However, organisation and prepping stuff in advance and freezing it is working really well for me. I try to cook enough for 5-6 serves. I mostly cook on the weekends. I’ll eat what I cooked that night, and maybe for the next couple of nights. Then I start dipping into the stock of previously prepared stuff in my freezer, so I get a bit of variety.

Anyway, here’s my recipe for Chicken and Mushroom Meatloaf. It does take an hour to cook but serves six. It has 338 calories per serve and serves six, but you need to have it with vegetables (not included in the calorie count)

Ingredients

700g Chicken Breast Mince (lean)

1 jumbo size egg (69g)

1 medium size brown onion (120g)

3 garlic cloves (9g)

60g Walnuts (nut meat only)

1/2 cup flat parsley (60g)

1 cup breadcrumbs (120g)

Water

Salt and Pepper to taste.

1. Chop the walnuts. Mince the garlic, slice the mushrooms and chop the onion. Rinse and chop the parsley and set to one side.

2. Toast the walnuts in a frypan over medium heat until golden. Set aside in a bowl to cool.

3. Add a couple of tablespoons of water to a saucepan and heat. Add the onions and garlic, and cook, continually stirring, over a medium heat for 2 minutes. If it looks like they’re sticking, add some more water and reduce the flame.

4. Add the mushrooms to the onions/garlic and add some more water. Cook, continually stirring, until the mushrooms are cooked through and the water has evaporated. If the water has evaporated before they’re cooked, add some more. The mushrooms will release some brown fluid as well, cook until this has gone. This may take ten to fifteen minutes. Set aside to cool.

5. After the mushroom/onion mix has been cooling for 10 minutes, turn the oven on to 180 degrees celcius to preheat. Line a loaf tin with baking paper.

6. Put everything together in a bowl and mix. Season with salt and pepper to taste–I don’t add salt, but I do add pepper. Shape into a loaf shape and put in the lined tin. Put in the oven and cook for an hour. If your oven doesn’t cook evenly, turn the dish around after half an hour. It should be golden-brown on top when it’s done.

7. Slice into six portions. Freeze the leftovers and serve the rest!

Serving suggestion: Steamed Button squash, green beans and broccoli.

    • caraannewilliams
    • May 16th, 2013

    Wishing I ate meat right now. 🙂

    I do the same thing with making several servings of one thing in advance and then freezing them. It’s a good plan.

    • Do you eat lentils? I have a fantastic vegan, oil free recipe for an Egyptian dish called Ful medames. It’s got broad beans in it, and red lentils.
      Only thing you have to watch is that it’s so filling you’ll find yourself not wanting to eat snacks, lunch and even dinner will be a bit “eh, not hungry.”
      And oh god, prepping stuff in advance. I can deal with steaming veges/cooking a grain on the night I’m going to eat, but anything else just goes into the “too hard” basket.

    • caraannewilliams
    • May 16th, 2013

    I love lentils. I’d love that recipe. I only eat three meals a day; I tend not to snack because all the fiber in the fruits, veggies, and beans keeps me pretty satisfied. Cravings are another story though. :-/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

